Evaluation

Evaluation

Exploring Photographic Practice

Joseph Holt

 

I struggled a lot with this assignment to be honest. This was due to the fact that I couldn’t make my mind up whether to go with the obvious emulation images that I took (which look like John Blakemore’s work) or go with the images that I believed the concept to be the more interesting and different of the two.

In the end I used the more interesting concept and just went with it. I am very proud of my work and I like the context behind it also.

It was a struggle to keep to a daily schedule over a couple of weeks; I had to due to this being one of Blakemore’s renowned traits. So in doing this I had to become obsessive over the subject matter yet not arrange it in my own way. I had to sit back and photograph every other time the make-up table was used and document how the items changed over the weeks.

I hope that what I have done hasn’t gone off too much of a tangent and made sense to others, I suppose that’s the beauty and frustration with photography and art.

If I could do it again I probably would have done it exactly the same but with a 50mm lens so I could include a lot more texture and personality to the images.

Even though I struggled throughout this project I actually really enjoyed it and would recommend it to others. I like the idea of emulating another’s work but putting your own spin and concept on it. It has taught me a few things about myself as a photographer and a lot about John Blakemore’s ideas and efforts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

